Trailer Man

Coming to an internship that doesn’t allow you to date or have romantic contact with anyone for the purpose of focusing on the Lord was tough. It was especially tough when I was suddenly surrounded by the most incredible and godly men I had ever met in my life and they were EVERYWHERE. So the advice I get is, “Just see them as a brother.” Yeah, right! I do not have 200 brothers that are cute and single. “So what do we do about this, Jesus?” Was my question and His reply was incredible.

(Important detail: at the internship, we have a men’s class called Trailer Club (I believe named because they used to meet in a trailer) and women’s class called Risen. The men are called Trailer Men and the women are Risen Women.)

I have one friend who is by far one of the godliest men I have ever met. Actually I have quite a few, but this one guy is absolutely beautiful inside and out. As our friendship is growing, I was having a difficult time keeping my eyes off him and on Jesus. I was being distracted and I didn’t know how to reconcile the two. I can’t run from every godly man on the face the planet whenever I find him attractive, that would be absurd. So I asked God (and pleaded for a long time, mind you) and I felt like He finally gave me a revelation worth sharing, a revelation about how to see my brothers in Christ with pure eyes and a pure heart.

In Mark 10:18, “Jesus said to him, ‘Why do you call me good? No one is good except God alone.’” Step one of my revelation was realizing that there is no good in us except that which comes from God. We have fallen natures and we are sinful creatures, but Christ lives in us and through us and we are covered with His blood and made clean. With that said, my godly guy friend and really any of the godly people in my life have no good in them. The only good in them is goodness that comes straight from the Father.

So I had to think about it. Anything good that I admired in this man was really from God. So the strength, tenderness, masculinity, passion, and attractiveness were really not from him, but they were from God. It was like when I was looking at this guy, I was almost meant to peer over his shoulder and see Someone else. If the light of God is shining through him, then just like the rest of Creation, he was created not to be worshiped, but to glorify his Creator who is worthy of all worship and honor. So as I peered around the side of this man, I began to understand in part what the Lord offers in full. The beautiful attributes of this man were meant to point me not to him, but to God.

This man served to be like snippets or a preview of the fullness that can be found in the real thing: Christ. And I can have Christ all the time! God promises to never leave me or forsake me (Heb. 13:4, Deut. 31:6, Joshua 1:5, Ps 37:5, 2 Cor. 4:9) so I can enter His presence and draw from His deep well and experience the FULLNESS of the strength, tenderness, masculinity, passion, and attractiveness that my heart desires straight from the source.

And that is when it hit me.

This man of God who shines the light of Christ gives me a preview of the real thing. He points me to the spring; the origin. This man… he was a Trailer. A Trailer Man. He is a trailer of the Full Length Film, a preview of something greater to come. We watch a trailer in anticipation for the full length film, but we don’t buy the trailer or love the trailer for being a trailer, we love it for what it represents. We love it for what it means- it means the fullness is coming soon! And soon we will see in full what now we only see in part.

“For we know in part and we prophesy in part, but when completeness comes, what is in part disappears. When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me. For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.” -1 Corinthians 13:9-12

~ by confessionsofadeadauthor on August 25, 2011.

8 Responses to “Trailer Man”

  1. That was really good Amanda. Good to keep in mind.

  2. Wow, Amanda, this is great! I’ve been thinking about Beauty as of late as well, and I love the revelation that ALL beauty is meant to point us to Christ! Romans 1 is clear: our hearts “exchange the glory of the immortal God for images resembling mortal man” so quickly though. We “worship and serve the creature rather than the Creator.” But thank God that “the One who said “Let light shine out of darkness,” has shone into our hearts to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ.” (2 Corinthians 4:6)

  3. That was so good, Amanda! I had heard you say some of that before, but it was a good reminder for me right now. Thanks for sharing!

  4. I like this quite a bit, my dear. so good and relishing.

  5. Amanda, that is an incredible post – a Trailer man.
    I really like that redefinition of the term….. Very inspiring. Thank you so much for the insight!

  6. Powerful!! so powerful! Man, everytime i read your blog the Holy Spirit hits me with something new. i love the new revelation of the “trailer” man, and just how these godly men display the attributes of God. but what we now see in part we will then see in full in the Lord! so encouraging and such a great perspective to remember!! thanks for sharing 🙂

  7. WOW! That blew me away!

  8. This is really good. The beauty of the Lord is everywhere… the Lord gives us revelations in very creative ways… thank you for sharing. Dios te siga bendiciendo

Leave a Reply

 
